Web 2.0 – Young 2023

A blog that seeks to share, reflect and network in the Web 2.0 learning journey


Let’s gain some karma points (iykyk)

This week, we were introduced to Reddit, an online social news and discussion website. For the laymen, it’s an online discussion forums which a huge number of communities (aka subreddits) which users can join and participate in consuming or contributing to the content. I’ve been introduced to it from previous courses, but I never pay much attention to it until logging in to my account again this week. And I am actually enjoying the interface of it. I’ve joined several subreddits, but have yet to chime in my thoughts and comments in the discussions yet (decided to be a Lurker for now).

I am also fascinated that there is a point system (called Karma points) which you can collect Karma points for every contribution you made to any discussions. As highlighted in the Reddit support page, it is used to assess one’s ‘reputation’ in the social networking site, and also for the users to flaunt their contributions to the communities they are in. So the more you post, the higher your karma points will be.

At the end of the day, it’s basically just a way to let others see how active you are in the platform. Does that drive you to get started with Reddit? What are your thoughts behind these point system?



5 responses to “Let’s gain some karma points (iykyk)”

  1. I have heard of reddit, but this is my first time actually taking the time to check it out. As of now, I think I’m going to sit this particular tool out. I tend to be more of a lurker on social media platforms, so the likelihood of me gaining points is super slim. Lol.

    Like

    1. Me too! I also just got into it (like into it) this summer! Same here too, I’m more of a passive consumer, but I guess different tools serve different purpose and you may get different insights depending where you’re ‘lurking’ at. Have fun!

      Like

  2. I joined Reddit this week but was unaware of the Karma points system. I honestly haven’t looked much into how Reddit works. I have been a lurker on Reddit for some time and never noticed the Karma points. It is an excellent way to know who are frequent participants. That may create a false sense of who members should listen to. People who post a lot aren’t necessarily experts and Karma points may make them seem that way.

    Like

    1. Exactly my thoughts too! It can be create a false perception that these people with ‘high karma points’ are perceived as the expect in the field. But I also think it’s human nature to tend to rely on stuff that has high reviews (e.g., google reviews for the best taco restaurants in Tallahassee). At the end of the day, I feel that it’s still the individual’s responsibility to cross-check another sources and not just take those comments or posts as gospel truth.

      Like

  3. […] I read Young’s post, Let’s gain some karma points (iykyk). As I posted earlier this week, I just joined Reddit, and in this post he talks about Karma points […]

    Like

Leave a comment

What’s is this space about

Hi, my name is Young. I am a master’s student majoring in instructional design and learning technology. This blog serves to jot down my learning journey in my course of studies. Please feel free to provide your feedback on the content!

Newsletter

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started